As suppliers and distributors of large amounts of energy, obligated parties have annual targets for making energy efficiency savings in homes and businesses.

Who are obligated parties

An obligated party is a supplier or distributor selling more than 600 GWh of energy per year to final customers. The Energy Efficiency Obligation Scheme sets out a legal obligation for obligated parties to achieve energy efficiency savings each year from 1st January 2014 to 31st December 2020.

Following a Government consultation in 2016, all energy distributors and retailers with final sales of at least 240 GWh in a year will become obligated parties. These companies can participate in the scheme on a voluntary basis before becoming formally obligated.

Savings targets for obligated parties

The Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment set an annual scheme target of 550 GWh in SI 131 of 2014. Following a consultation in 2016, this annual target increased to 625 GWh for 2017. It will rise to 700 GWh from 2018-2020. Targets are allocated to each obligated party based on their share of the energy market. This is calculated in terms of sales volume to final customers. Each company's target is divided across three sectors: 75% non-residential, 20% residential and 5% energy poverty (residential).

From 2017 onwards, obligated parties must achieve at least 95% of their annual targets (cumulatively) each year. These targets will help Ireland meet the 2012 EU Energy Efficiency Directive. More information about these targets is available in further information below.

Achieving targets

Targets may be achieved in one of the following ways:

  1. Working directly with businesses and homeowners
  2. Partnering with local authorities, housing associations or delivery companies
  3. Exchanging energy credits with another obligated party, once they have been validated by SEAI
  4. Suppliers may choose to buy-out up to 30% of their target each year

Claiming energy credits

Only obligated parties under the EEOS can claim energy credits. Obligated parties must get signed consent from property owners to get assigned their energy credits.

See contact details for current obligated parties in the table below.

OrganisationTitleFirst nameSurnameEmail
Airtricity Mr. Kevin Hourigan kevin.hourigan@airtricity.com
Mr. Peter Lord peter.lord@airtricity.com
Mr. Brian Connolly Brian.Connolly@sserenewables.com
BGE Mr. Ger Harnett gharnett@bordgais.ie
Mr. Joseph O'Dowd jodowd@bordgais.ie
Bord na Mona Mr. Justin Maguire Justin.Maguire@bnm.ie
Mr. Tom Quinn Tom.Quinn@bnm.ie
Mr. Niall McNamara niall.mcnamara@bnm.ie
Calor Gas Mr. Richard Alexander Richard.Alexander@calorgas.ie
Mr. Oliver Kenny oliver.kenny@calorgas.ie
Electric Ireland Mr. David Willis david.willis@electricireland.ie
Energia Mr. Cormac Mannion Cormac.Mannion@energia.ie
Flogas Mr. Ciaran Costelloe ccostelloe@flogas.ie
Gazprom Mr. Steve Mulliganie steve.mulliganie@gazprom-energy.com
Lissan Ms. Geraldine Hanna Geraldine@lissancc.com
Enprova/REIL Mr. Paddy Sweeney paddy.sweeney@reil.ie
Mr. Dermot Byrne dermot.byrne@reil.ie
Vayu Mr. Ciaran Gahan CGahan@vayu.ie

Contact us

Email eeos@seai.ie