The 2023 winners were announced at this years gala ceremony in Dublin on Thursday 17th.

  • An Post takes Energy Team prize at 2023 SEAI Energy Awards.
  • Pat Barry from the Irish Green Building Council awarded for Outstanding Contribution to Sustainable Energy.
  • There have been more than 2,100 applicants over the past 20 years.
  • Renewable energy produced by this year’s entrants enough to power 400,000 homes per year.

The Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (SEAI) has announced the winners of the 2023 SEAI Energy Awards while celebrating 20 years of the event.

Since the very first ceremony in 2003 there have been 2,100 applicants, 190 award winners and collectively achieving around €650 million in energy savings.

This year, there were 114 applications, 40 finalists, who collectively reduced energy consumption by 16% saving €50 million in energy spend. The renewable energy produced by the 2023 entrants is equivalent to powering over 400,000 homes per year.

The top prize this year went to An Post for Energy Team of the year. The six members of the An Post Sustainability Team drive the company’s sustainability programme which spans all of their operations. Among their main projects were retrofitting the property portfolio to at least a BER B3 and building a substantial electric vehicle fleet.

CEO of the Irish Green building Council Pat Barry was given the Chair’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to Sustainable Energy. The IGBC is a hugely influential organisation in Irish property and construction. Pat advocates and collaborates with industry stakeholders across the entire value chain to provide practical but ambitious leading edge policy input. He innovates and has led the development of programmes to measure improvement of building performance and whole life carbon methodologies.

Hosted by journalist Sinead Ryan, this year’s ceremony saw a total of thirteen awards presented to individuals, businesses, communities, and public sector organisations in recognition of their commitment and dedication to sustainable energy and climate action.

Minister for the Environment, Climate and Communications, Eamon Ryan TD, said:

“I want to congratulate the entrants and winners of this year’s SEAI Energy Awards for their commitment to sustainable energy and their role in fighting for a cleaner energy future for us all. The finalists – indeed all the applicants this year – give an insight into the technical capacity, the innovation, the drive and the vision that is powering an energy transformation right across the country, in businesses and in communities. The calibre of individuals and organisations that have taken part in this prestigious event over the past 20 years gives me great confidence when it comes to meeting our ambitious but achievable climate targets.”

CEO of SEAI, William Walsh, said:

 “Over the past twenty years we have seen incredible innovation and momentum in sustainable energy. And today at the 20th SEAI Energy Awards, we are celebrating the achievements of entrants and their contribution to a sustainable energy future. We are here to recognise those leading the energy revolution in their respective sectors, providing exemplary leadership in reducing Ireland’s dependence on fossil fuels.”

Other 2023 SEAI Energy Award winners include;

  • Ahascragh Distillers Ltd (Innovative Deployment of Renewable Energy)
  • Lawler Sustainability (Research and Innovation)
  • Lidl (Large Business)
  • Ballykilcavan Brewing Company (Small and Medium Business)
  • Inland Fisheries Ireland (Leadership in public sector decarbonisation and energy efficiency)
  • University of Galway (Energy in Buildings)
  • Bus Éireann (Transport)
  • SSE Airtricity Energy Services/Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council (Residential Energy Upgrades)
  • Symphony Energy (Sustainability via Digital Technologies in Construction and Buildings).

For full details on all winning projects, visit